Gabungan Sabah, the long awaited unity of Sabah parties


KOTA KINABALU, February 12, 2018: A formidable force of Sabah local parties have finally bonded together in time for the coming general election to regain Sabah rights and autonomy. Gabungan Sabah is the clearest fulfillment of Sabahans` hopes for Sabah opposition parties to form a united front to battle UMNO-led BN which is now threatened by the burning issues of GST, inflation and corruption.

At a time when the national opposition Pakatan Rakyat in Sabah has collapsed, with PKR splintering into countless group, and DAP having been paralysed by internal strife and defections and the departure of PAS, Sabah political parties have united under one alliance and with one common manifesto. As for Parti Warisan, a proxy of Parti Pribumi Bersatu, it faces an uncertain future as it has yet to hold its annual delegates conference. Some of its top leaders are also facing a raft of criminal investigations.

Gabungan Sabah it the unity of Sabahans for Sabah

Hence, Gabungan Sabah is not only a strategy thwart (frustrate) the federal divide and rule tactic, Gabungan Sabah is also a realisation of Sabahans` hopes to see a strong, united opposition of credible and tested leaders and promising young leaders.

Chaired by former Finance Minister, who was once detained in Kuala Lumpur under the then draconian Internal Security Act in 1976 for fighting for Sabah, Datuk Hj. Mohd Noor Mansoor, by virtue of his long dedication to Sabah, commands the respect of Sabahans.

Datuk Mohd. Noor Mansoor is deputised by the party president of the four parties, namely Datuk Yong Teck Lee of SAPP, a former Chief Minister, Datuk Dr. Jeffery Kitingan, a true fighter of Sabah rights who was also detained for two years under ISA in 1991 of STAR ; former Deputy Chief Minister Datuk Seri Panglima Lajim Hj. Ukin, Of Parti Harapan Rakyat Sabah, who has proven his strength by defeating UMNO at Beaufort and Dato Mohd Arshad Mualap, of Parti Perpaduan Rakyat Sabah, a young ex-teacher who bravely contested as an independent candidate against the Chief Minister at Sungai Sibuga in GE13.

The line-up of the Gabungan Central Council is:

  • Chairman: Datuk Hj. Mohd Noor Mansoor
  • Deputy Chairman:    
    Datuk Dr Jeffery Kitingan (STAR)
    Datuk Seri Panglima Yong Teck lee (SAPP)
    Datuk Seri Panglima Lajim Hj. Ukin (HR)
    Dato Mohd. Arshad Mualap (PPRS)
  • Secretary: Mr.Edward Dagul (SAPP)
  • Treasurer:  Mr. Rubbin Guribah (STAR)
  • Information Chief:  Mr. Ashim Jamat (HR)
  • Legal Advisor:  Datuk Maijol Mahap (HR)
  • Training Director:  Mr. Jalumin Bayogoh (STAR)
  • Ketua Wanita:  Datin Seri Panglima Normila Siong (HR)
  • Ketua Pemuda::  Mr. Jamain Sarudin (SAPP)
  • Council Members:    
    Mr. Edward Linggu (STAR)
    Mr. Guandee Kohoi (STAR)
    Mr. Robert Tawik (STAR)
    Ms. Evelyn Gobile (STAR)
    Mr. Hj. Amde Sidik (SAPP)
    Ms. Melanie Chia Chui Ket (SAPP)
    Datuk Richard Yong We Kong (SAPP)
    Mr. Japiril Suhaimin (SAPP)
    Mr. Patrick Sadom (HR)
    Mr. Abdin Hj. Darus (HR)
    Ms. Ester Otion (HR)
    Mr. Mohd. Ashraf Chin Abdullah (PPRS)
    Mr. Said Tiblan (PPRS)
    Ms. Allaidly Payon (PPRS)
    Ms. Anesthicia Bte Usun (PPRS)

Author: webmaster